A comparison of polymeric materials as pre-concentrating media for use with ATR/FTIR sensing

Flavin, Kevin and Hughes, Helen and Dobbyn, Valarie and Kirwan, Padraig and Murphy, Kieran and Steiner, Hans and Mizaikoff, Boris and McLoughlin, Peter (2006) A comparison of polymeric materials as pre-concentrating media for use with ATR/FTIR sensing. International Journal of Environmental Analytical Chemistry, 86 (6). pp. 401-415. ISSN 0306-7319

Full text not available from this repository. (Request a copy)


Polymer-modified ATR-FTIR spectroscopy was investigated to determine its potential suitability for use as an analytical methodology for process stream analysis. The process stream under investigation contains toluene, tetrahydrofuran, ethanol, and acetonitrile in an aqueous matrix. Four polymers, Teflon® AF2400, poly(acrylonitrile-co-butadiene) (PAB), polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), and poly(styrene-co-butadiene) (PSB), were chosen for study based on partition coefficients measured using a novel automated GC technique. Polymer suitability as pre-concentration media was assessed utilizing analyte/polymer diffusion coefficient data, equilibrium absorbance values, water ingress, and polymer plasticization. PAB displayed the fastest sensing times and enhanced sensitivities. Teflon® AF2400 demonstrated a low water absorption and a low degree of plasticization. Other factors affecting the diffusion rate of analytes were also investigated including molecular size, shape and analyte concentration. This research demonstrated that the choice of pre-concentrating medium is not a trivial issue, being dictated by a combination of sensitivity constraints as well as polymer robustness in real sample matrices.

Item Type: Article
Additional Information: Funding Information: We thank the patients and their families for their participation in this study; individuals who were instrumental in the conduct of this study and the collection of data, particularly principal investigators, supporting investigators, clinical coordinators, clinical evaluators, and study coordinators. We thank Robert Weiss (University of Utah, UT, USA) for dystrophin gene sequencing; the patient advocacy organizations (including Valerie Cwik and the Muscular Dystrophy Association, and Patricia Furlong and the Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy) for the collaboration and support that made this trial possible. Medical writing was provided by Annette Skorupa, PhD of EnlightenMed LLC and was funded by PTC Therapeutics, Inc. Funding Information: Conflicts of Interest: Dr. Darras has served as an ad hoc scientific advisory board member for AveXis, Biogen, Cytokinetics, Marathon Pharmaceuticals, PTC Therapeutics, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Roche, and Sarepta; and has been an advisor for Ionis Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; he has no financial interests in these companies. He has received research support from the National Institutes of Health/National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, the Slaney Family Fund for SMA, the Spinal Muscular Atrophy Foundation, CureSMA, and Working on Walking Fund; and grants from Ionis Pharmaceuticals, Inc. for the ENDEAR, CHERISH, CS2/CS12 studies, from Biogen for CS11, as well as from Cytokinetics, Sarepta Pharmaceuticals, PTC Therapeutics, Fibrogen, and Summit. Dr. Shieh has served as an ad hoc advisory board member for AveXis, Biogen, Marathon, PTC, and Sar-epta but he has no financial interests in these companies. He has received research support from Ionis Pharmaceuticals and Biogen for their SMA studies, as well as from Cytokinetics for their SMA clinical trial, Sarepta for the DMD clinical trials, PTC Therapeutics for their DMD/ataluren trial, Pfizer for their DMD/myostatin clinical trial, BMS/Roche for their DMD/myostatin clinical trial, Sanofi/Genzyme for their Pompe clinical trial, and Summit for their DMD clinical trial. Dr. McDonald has served as a consultant for clinical trials for PTC Therapeutics, Biomarin, Sarepta, Eli Lilly, Pfizer, Santhera Pharmaceuticals, Cardero Therapeutics, Inc., Catabasis, Capricor, Marathon, and Mitobridge, outside the submitted work; serves on external advisory boards related to Duchenne muscular dystrophy for PTC Therapeutics, Eli Lilly, Sar-epta Therapeutics, Santhera Pharmaceuticals, and Capricor; and reports grants from US Dept. of Education/NIDRR, NIDILRR, US NIH/NIAMS, US Department of Defense, and Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy US, during the conduct of the study. Joseph McIntosh, Fengbin Jin, Gary Elfring, Mar-cio Souza, Siva Narayanan, Panayiota Trifillis, and Stuart W. Peltz are employees and stockholders of PTC Therapeutics, Inc.
Uncontrolled Keywords: /dk/atira/pure/subjectarea/asjc/1600/1602
Departments or Groups:
Depositing User: Admin SSL
Date Deposited: 19 Oct 2022 23:05
Last Modified: 24 Jun 2023 02:50
URI: http://repository-testing.wit.ie/id/eprint/4019

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item